Honest Beauty – The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

It seems like months have passed since I started talking about testing out Honest Beauty. Seriously, where did the time go!? I’ve been done with testing these products for a while now, but I had a lot of editorials that took higher priority with the introduction of my Trip Planner. Beauty gurus rejoice, I am back! It’s finally time to discuss my thoughts on Honest Beauty, and unfortunately most of my opinions are (spoiler alert) negative. Get ready for an honest review of Honest Beauty – the good, the bad, the ugly.

Honest Beauty - The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

The Good

Refreshingly Clean Gel Cleanser | HERE

While I had mixed feelings about this one at first, my overall opinion towards the end was that this was a good cleanser. Not a great cleanser, but a good one, and especially for the price. This definitely made my skin feel cleansed and refreshed after use, and it is only a mild foaming cleanser. I try to stay away from foaming cleansers, but this one wasn’t too bad. It did its job and wasn’t fussy. If you like all natural cleansers that have an ‘essential oil smell’ (chamomile, lavender, marigold), then you’ll love this! I wouldn’t purchase this again because I hate lavender. It also says you can use this to remove makeup, but I wouldn’t. Use this as your second cleanse.

Elevated Hydration Mist | HERE

This hydration mist was a nice surprise and great change from the normal mists on the market. If you’re tired of those rosey scents in mists, then this is for you! It contains (again) lavender and chamomile, which is really nice to mist yourself with before you go to bed. Typically I would only recommend mist as a day time use, but spritzing yourself before bed will help you to fall asleep. As far as the moisturizing property, this falls somewhere in the middle of my mist collection. I have mists I love way more, and the mists that don’t work at all. This one definitely moisturizes your skin right away. A decent mist for the price! But again, the damn lavender will cause me to stick with my Clinique.

Honest Beauty - The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

The Bad

Younger Face Deep Hydration Cream | HERE

At this point in to my testing, I was done with chamomile and lavender. Oh boy they weren’t though! Another product with both, lovely. If you check out the ingredient list, they definitely took a more is more approach. Consequently, this moisturizer feels very think and heavy which I didn’t particularly like. This also contains shea butter which I know can cause a lot of skin irritations. Using this felt like adding body lotion straight to my face and I was not a fan at all. Still, it’s not the worst moisturizer I’ve ever used. I’d like to see them reformulate and take a less is more approach. Who doesn’t love a weightless moisturizer? I will not be purchasing again with so many other great options on the market.

Everything Tinted Moisturizer – Cream | HERE

Can we take a moment for this ingredient list? MORE CHAMOMILE. Seriously. This tinted moisturizer was really heavy and thick. It was almost so think that I had a hard time squeezing it out of the bottle. I definitely prefer more weightless products. Overall, one of the worst tinted moisturizers I’ve ever used. The formula isn’t good (though all natural, which I know is a bonus for some), and it doesn’t perform well on the skin. I find this really sits on top of the skin and never fully sinks in. It’s also a little tacky to the touch, and the smell is a little off putting for me. Enough said really. I will not be purchasing again.

Honest Beauty - The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

The Ugly

Magic Balm | HERE

I was pretty shocked that this Magic Balm had such good reviews on the site. It could just be me, but for a shocking $18, maybe you should avoid finding out. Kidding of course, but the price of this is outrageous considering it actually made my lips worse. Out of all the products I tested, this one was my biggest gripe. I hate hate hate this. It actually dried out my lips and made them so much worse. I am convinced all the ladies leaving reviews haven’t discovered Glossier or Bite Beauty yet. This product also claims it is a one stop shop in the salve department. You can use this anywhere on your face for stubborn dry patches. I wouldn’t use this on my dog, to be frank. I will not be repurchasing.

Honest Beauty - The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

That concludes my honest review of Honest Beauty (that’s so fun to say). Sorry this one was so negative. I was really hoping to like a lot of their products, but they seem  really overrated in my eyes. I have heard lots of mixed reviews from this brand as a whole, so I wanted to test them out for myself to see what I really thought. Hopefully this review was helpful! There are much better brands out there in my opinion, but Honest Beauty still shockingly has a strong hold in the natural skin care world.

Have you tried Honest Beauty? What were your thoughts? Are there any products that you love? Leave me a comment below!

BRANDS

Honest Beauty

49 Comments

  • 3 months ago

    I’ve never tried Honest Beauty products before because I have a selective few to stick to given my serious case of sensitive skin. Thanks for the share! Great learning about the pros and cons of products out there, very insightful post hun :0 xo~ Lena
    http://www.thewanderliste.com

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      You’re welcome Lena! They are probably decently good for sensitive skin, though they do contain a ton of ingredients.

  • 3 months ago

    Every single one of these products sounds like exactly what my skin needs! Great post. x

    http://www.themakeupaficionado.com
    https://www.instagram.com/themakeupaficionado17/
    https://au.pinterest.com/bernadette_95/

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      …then I don’t think you read my post. ;p

  • 3 months ago

    I’ve never tried this product before. However, I do appreciate your honesty on this review. Points mentioned are essentials to be mindful of, subject to skin type. Thanks for sharing hun.

    Funmi x
    http://www.funmialabi.co.uk

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Thanks Funmi! Yes definitely subject to skin type. Though I still like taking a less is more approach.

  • 3 months ago

    Simply beautiful
    http://www.falifo.com

  • 3 months ago

    I love how honest your review was! I’ve never heard of this brand before, but am really intrigued by the Hydration Mist.

    Blessings,
    Edye | http://gracefulcoffee.com

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Thanks Edye!

  • 3 months ago

    Oh no!! I’ve always thought Honest products would be amazing (but I’ve never tried them). Bummer that most of them didn’t work out!

    Tina
    http://www.justatinabit.com

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Right?! Before I had tested these out I heard A LOT of mixed reviews. So I wanted to find out for myself. To be honest (no pun intended) they might totally work for you! I just think the overall formulation of most were pretty sub par. But you never know!

  • 3 months ago

    It seems like a perfect products! Thanks for sharing it with us 🙂
    Meet My Lovely World

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      My thoughts were a bit negative, but thanks for stopping by anyway!

  • 3 months ago

    Happy Wednesday! I’ve never tried Honest Beauty products before. In fact, I’ve never heard of this brand before (feeling so ashamed right now!). Too bad the magic balm didn’t work well for you…I’ve been using a lip balm, called bebe (available in German drug stores) for a couple of years now and this one is so so good! It doesn’t dry out my lips, keeps my lips hydrated, and I love the soft texture as well 🙂 You might wanna buy this if you ever go to Germany 🙂 Merry Christmas! xo, Vivian

    http://www.viviantse.net

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      That balm sounds awesome! That’s always the stuff I like buying from other countries too, so that’s a really great suggestion for me. Thank you!!

  • 3 months ago

    I do agree, I think this brand is over-rated but at least you did find something you like, a shame really as I do love their concept. I just wish their products were better, thanks for sharing. I loved your honest review of Honest beauty (that really is fun to say)! Hope you will stop by my blog if you get the chance xxx

    ALittleKiran | Bloglovin

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Thank you Kiran! So fun to say, right? I am glad you liked my honestly. It sucks to have to be so negative, but just not a fan of the brand at all at this point.

  • The mist sounds like something I’d be into, but man oh man keep that Shea butter away! lol My skin breaks out like crazy if I get shea butter anywhere near it! So weird because it’s supposed to be such a great moisturizing product. I get the occasional hormonal breakout, but she butter products erupt my skin, it’s unlike anything I’ve ever seen! I was curious about this brand since I have used a lot of the Honest baby products, but I feel like no one is talking about it.

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Makes sense! I know so many people that are sensitive to it. I think my skin can handle it for the most part. But the consistency of this one was just so thick, like the entire thing was just shea butter body lotion haha. I am not sure how their makeup performs, but at this point I wish she would have just stuck with the baby stuff. Though I’ve also heard a lot of complains about even those!

  • 3 months ago

    Great review! I’ve tried some of Honest’s makeup products which were fine, but their makeup removing wipes make me break out like crazy! My skin just did not like it!

    Annessa
    http://www.seekingsunshine.com

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Thanks Annessa! Good to know. Probably won’t be purchasing those haha.

  • 3 months ago

    I’m not familiar with honest beauty, but i do like your honest review.
    http://www.comfycozyup.com

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Haha thank you!

  • 3 months ago

    Thanks for sharing! I’ve never tried these but I am glad I read your review! xo

    Cathclaire | The Crystal Press
    http://www.cathclaire.com
    http://www.thecrystalpress.com

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Welcome! Thanks for stopping by!

  • 3 months ago

    I never tried Honest Beauty before, but I love Jessica Alba so it is def on my list 🙂

    http://www.pennyanddash.com

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Thanks Mel!

  • 3 months ago

    Thank you for an honest review! I have been curious to test out their products because I’ve been hearing such rave reviews but have been skeptical. Ultimately I’ve had the same concerns about trying it that you encountered. Think I’ll pass for now!

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      You’re welcome! I feel like the people giving them rave reviews are honestly a lot of bloggers who are friends with Jessica, or are doing some sort of paid promotion. Kind of sad really. I mean, they’re not HORRIBLE. But they are not really worth putting on your skin in my opinion. Eeeek!

  • 3 months ago

    Nice post! Thanks for introducing me to new products.

    http://www.myclusterofthoughts.com/

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      You’re welcome Katherine!

  • 3 months ago

    I haven’t heard of this brand before and thank you for the honest review. I hate it too when I try a moisturizer that is too thick, I feel it just sits on the surface of my face and does not get absorbed, I tried a couple of them in the past and were so thick I could not use them. I prefer lighter options and gels.

    Yiota
    pinkdaisyloves.blogspot.com

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Same here! I hate that feeling! Thanks for stopping by Yiota, and glad you liked the review. 🙂

  • 3 months ago

    This looks so perfect!! Can’t wait to try the products of Honest Beauty myself! Thank you for sharing! Happy holidays, Susanne – http://bagatyou.com

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Welcome!

  • Gabrielle
    3 months ago

    The Elevated Hydration Mist sounds beautiful thanks to the lavender scent (definitely to my taste!). It’s such a pity about the other products – love your honesty though! Have a wonderful Christmas 🙂

    aglassofice.com
    x

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Thank you Gabrielle! You as well!

  • 3 months ago

    Skincare is so important especially during the winter. These sound like amazing products!

    http://www.rdsobsessions.com

  • 3 months ago

    I have actually never heard of Honest beauty before! I love that you are always so honest in your product reviews. It really keeps your credibility as a blogger and it’s nice to come here and not feel like you’re just selling me anything. You truly want to believe and support the products you review and I totally admire that! I have to be completely behind the products I discuss on my blog too! Hope you’re having a great week so far babe and if I don’t talk to you in the next few days, Have a very Merry Christmas!

    xoxo Rina
    http://www.andshedressed.com

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Aw thank you Rina! I turn down a lot of sponsorships because I don’t like ‘selling’ things haha. It just doesn’t feel right and I think people can tell if it’s not authentic. That’s the same reason I like your blog too! I feel like you keep it real and don’t shove certain brands at people. Love that. 🙂

  • 3 months ago

    I am so glad I get to read such an honest opinion, even though you think it was negative I think it was great. I hope you find the great product for you!

    Camila,
    My Vogue Style | http://www.myvoguestyle.com

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Thanks Camila! Glad you liked it.

  • 3 months ago

    I’ve never tried this brand before but after this review I definitely need to
    xx
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_zn7IqrAY1I44bRuN6dH-Q
    https://theonethattravels.wordpress.com/

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Haha my review was pretty negative. 😉

  • 3 months ago

    Got some useful info here, thanks for sharing

    http://myeternalsymphony.com

  • 3 months ago

    Great review! I haven’t tried any of the Honest beauty products but I’ve been hearing a lot about them. After your review, I’m not at this moment jumping to try them out but I’m really intrigued by the Hydration Mist. It sounds quite lovely!

    Ann-Marie | http://facetocurls.com

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      Thanks lady! I think there are many better brands out there for sure!

  • Jenn
    3 months ago

    I have never even heard of the brand before! But shocking that most of the products didn’t really deliver. Most of the time natural products are so good. But I guess sometimes too much natural is not good too. It really depends on the ingredients and the skin type of the user. Thanks for this very honest and informative review! 🙂

    Jenn
    The Pink Lemonade Girl
    YouTube
    Bloglovin

    • Emily
      3 months ago

      You’re welcome Jenn! And yes I totally agree with you. I think it depends on the ingredients. These are loaded with shea butter, which for me, just isn’t too pleasant on the skin. I also have an aversion for lavender. So definitely not my cup of tea!

Leave A Comment

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: