Dr. Dennis Gross Ferulic + Retinol Eye Cream Review

I’ve been talking about the Dr. Dennis Gross Ferulic + Retinol Eye Cream for months now it seems like. I have a few posts where I’ve featured this product, as it’s been something I’ve been testing out for what seems like forever! It’s been such a long testing process because at my age, I refuse to use a retinol eye cream every night. Rather, I prefer an every other night to two nights application. Also, this product has stumped me a little, and I am still on the fence about it. However I’ve been using it long enough to where I am finally able to give my readers an informative review of this product.

Dr. Dennis Gross Ferulic + Retinol Eye Cream Review

Product and Ingredient Breakdown

The Dr. Dennis Gross Ferulic + Retinol Eye Cream is a retinol eye cream that fights aging such as lines, wrinkles, baggy under eyes, etc.  It claims to be a “firming, lifting, and brightening eye cream that recovers a youthful, healthy appearance to the eye area instantly and overtime.” The ferulic acide promotes anti aging and the retinol repairs the skin while keeping it moisturized. Retinol is one of those ingredients that will always be pricey because of its proven capabilities to diminish wrinkles and fine lines. Literally speaking: it f*cking works. This product also contains a blend of Ellagic Acid, Collagen, and Gallic Acid.

The eye cream also has AHA, which compliments the retinol very well. There’s been some mention of AHA making retinol less effective, but nothing has been statistically proven. However, the use of AHA does mean you’ll need to wear sunscreen if you are using this. AHA can make your skin very sensitive to the sun and you will burn much easier, making you more susceptible to dark spots. So please, wear sunscreen!

My Experience

I used this product every other night to every two nights for the about two months. This is really the first retinol eye cream I’ve ever purchased, and I have to admit, teaching myself to get in the habit of wearing sunscreen on my face has been a doozy. I am 28-years-old, and I feel like I might be a little too young for this product to actually product significant results for me. I am also taking in to consideration my use, which was pretty sporadically. Basically, I don’t see much of a difference. I do think this this helped a little with my dark circles and also tightening my under eye area, but not enough for me to purchase again.

Dr. Dennis Gross Ferulic + Retinol Eye Cream Review

Dr. Dennis Gross Ferulic + Retinol Eye Cream Review

Who This Would Be Good For

This product is interesting because it essentially has all the good ingredients to make it successful.  Retinol has been clinically proven over and over again to work. When you purchase a retinol, there is no guessing on what you’re getting. Combined with the other acids, this is a phenomenal product. I really do believe this would work for anyone with mature skin, or who is noticing the signs of aging a bit earlier than most. Personally, my under eyes are in pretty good shape (thanks good genes). I might not even need this product until I am 40+. It just depends on how much you feel you look aged, or how much sun exposure you’ve had, etc. So definitely give this product a go if you aren’t impressed lately with how your under eyes are aging.

Final Thoughts

My first initial reaction to this not quite working for me was, “well what do other people say about this?” So I looked up the reviews on Sephora, and it turns out that lots of other people said the same thing. The Fuleric + Retinol Eye Cream only has 3.1 stars out of 5, which isn’t exactly impressing anyone. I tried to find patterns in the reviews of people who didn’t like the product, and to be honest they were all over the place. One major thing I did notice was that people that rated the product low complained heavily of dryness under the eye after use. The AHA will dry out your skin if you’re using it every night, so be sure to use a good moisturizer with this.

While I won’t be purchasing this again any time soon, I do recommend this to my readers with mature skin. The ingredients are amazing, and used the right way, they can produce results. This is a pricey product but a little goes a long long way. For the last two months, I have only been using the product that’s gotten stuck to the top of the lid. Yes, you heard that right! Meaning I still have yet to actually dip my finger in to the jar after two months of use. So the value is definitely there.

Dr. Dennis Gross Ferulic + Retinol Eye Cream Review

This concludes my super awkward review in the form of “hey it didn’t work for me, but I still recommend it.” Has this happened to anyone else before? I feel a bit guilty writing a review like this, but damn that ingredient list is just so good! I couldn’t not recommend this eye cream. If you’re looking for alternative eye creams that don’t break the bank or are as extreme, I recommend either First Aid Beauty’s Eye Duty Triple Remedy or Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Eye cream.

Do you have any eye creams you use regularly? Or have any of you tried this Dr. Dennis Gross eye cream, and what were your thoughts? I’d be super interested since the reviews are so mixed!

BRANDS

Dr. Dennis Gross Skin Care

60 Comments

  • 8 months ago

    Skincare always feels so hit and miss – like you said, something can have a kick ass ingredient list and work really well with some skin types, but just not do much for you. I find it really frustrating! I’ve been trying out an eye cream from the brand Tula lately… and I kind of feel this way about it, too. It definitely hasn’t hurt anything, which is a good step haha.

    Kathryn • Simply KK

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Yes, exactly! I’ve been wanting to try Tula actually. That’s a bummer you feel the same about it. I feel like it’s decently priced too!

  • Skincare posts are always my fav. I’m so nosy and LOVE knowing what other people put on their face. (; Have a great weekend!

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Same here! Thanks Kiki and have a great weekend too!

  • 8 months ago

    I don’t have mature skin yet, but it’s nice to know it works for the target demographic. Could make a great gift, thanks for sharing. Lovely review and photos xxx

    ALittleKiran | Bloglovin

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Yes, it would be super great for a gift! Would make a great stocking stuffer for your mother or grandmother. Hopefully they wouldn’t take it the wrong way haha. 😉

  • 8 months ago

    Hmm…this is a tricky one but you’re right, you’re probably not noticing much differences because you don’t need it yet. It might work for me as I’m turning 38 in January…I’m getting old as f*ck. LMAO!

    Reflection of Sanity | b·liv Skincare Set Giveaway

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      That’s what I think. I did see a little difference. I think my skin there looks much more plump and firm. Dark circles reduced a little. But yeah, I think I’ll hold off on the retinol for now. 😉

  • 8 months ago

    Alas, the search for the perfect eye cream continues. I’m currently so frustrated with my natural cream, it seems to be drying the skin around my eyes out which is SO NOT CUTE! Here’s hoping you come across the dream cream and share it with all of us!

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Oh no! Check out the last two I mentioned! Those ones are pretty mild and actually work. 🙂

  • 8 months ago

    It definitely sounds like it’s worth checking out. Would you recommend it for those with super sensitive skin? I’ve never really had a bad reaction from an eye cream before, but then again none of them were really effective either.

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      I would not recommend this for super sensitive skin unfortunately. The AHA and retinol can be pretty harsh on the skin, especially if you’re prone to dryness and have sensitive skin. Instead, try the last few eye creams I mentioned. Those ones are very mild and should be better for you. 🙂

  • 8 months ago

    I loved your review; this is a lovely product, but perhaps for someone with a mature skin as you said. By the way – this happens to me all the time! I receive a product, it is seriously great, but not for me at this point of life/time etc. So don’t you worry! 🙂

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Haha this is the first time it’s happened to me. But I’m sure it will happen again. Thanks for stopping by Naya!

  • 8 months ago

    Thanks for your honest review! I definitely need to invest in an eye cream!

    Tina
    http://www.justatinabit.com

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      It’s a good investment! The last two I mentioned are really good starters. 🙂

  • Loal
    8 months ago

    great review

    NEW BLOG ! please follow me : YOUNG BLOG

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Thank you!

  • Gabrielle
    8 months ago

    It’s great that you’ve been testing this product for a long time before reviewing it. It’s a pity it’s not a magic-fit for your skin type, however this wasn’t awkward at all (don’t worry!) because I’ll bet there’s plenty of skin types out there it’s perfect for 🙂 Hope you’re having a great weekend Emily!

    aglassofice.com
    x

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Aw thanks Gabrielle! I think so too!

  • 8 months ago

    I have to try this! thanks of sharing
    http://www.cranberrytantrums.com

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      You’re welcome Jenn!

  • 8 months ago

    I love the sound of this product. I doubt it is available in SA but I will definitely keep a lookout.
    x Rivania | The Glam Unicorn

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Thanks for stopping by Rivania!

  • 8 months ago

    Oh man, Ive been looking for a GOOD eye cream because I need results and I need them now. I’ve never had issues with my eye area, if any it’s dark circles but I literally woke up one day and bam all these effing lines under my eyes and it’s driving me insane. You can’t really see them on naked skin but once I put concealer omg it’s a nightmare. Fuck being 30! (Not to scare you or anything!)

    Sxx
    http://www.daringcoco.com

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      You might give this one a go! Or any retinol eye cream for that matter. I think Kate Somerville makes a good one too. I am not too happy about being nearly 30 haha, but my under eyes are in decent shape so fingers crossed!

  • 8 months ago

    I’m not sure I would try an eye cream that causes dryness! shame it didnt work out.

    http://claresloves.blogspot.com/

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Thanks Clare! You definitely want to use a good moisturizer.

  • Emily
    8 months ago

    I really love that you take the time to properly test the products you review! At 23, I do feel a little bit unsure about whether I should be using an eye product at this point or not as I try to use a little as possible, I put enough gunk on my face as it is!

    Musings & More

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Thanks Emily! I definitely like taking the time to use things before I write about them. And yes, I would totallyyy agree that this is something you won’t need any time soon haha. Check out the ones I listed towards the bottom though! Those are both great eye creams that are mild. 🙂

  • 8 months ago

    I’ve actually started using an under eye cream religiously for the past 2 months. I apply it every morning before my makeup and I have noticed some significant changes! I am 27 y.o and was started to notice some fine lines under my eyes, especially when tired or they would be puffy and I’m not having that problem any more at all! And I’m definitely not getting any more sleep (even though sleep is the one thing that fixes everything!) It’s by Kiehls and has avocado in it. I will definitely be repurchasing!

    xoxo Rina
    http://www.andshedressed.com

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Oh nice! Do you know which one it is? I think Kiehls has a few, and there is one I really really love which I actually listed towards the bottom of this post. Glad you’ve found something that’s been working!

  • 8 months ago

    Yeah maybe once I’m a bit more older and this starts to be more of a concern I’ll try it out! Thanks for your review 😀

    xx Sofia | SofiaaDot

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      You’re welcome lady!

  • 8 months ago

    I’ve never used this but looks really good.
    Thanks for sharing.

    XoXo Noma

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      You’re welcome Noma!

  • 8 months ago

    I always appreciate that you take a while testing the products before writing about them. Anyway, I need to look for a new cream so will be checking your suggestions. Have a lovely week. <3

    Andreea,
    http://couturezilla.com/

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Thank you Andreea! Have a great week too!

  • 8 months ago

    Just came across your blog and instantly fell in love with your photos and layout! x
    wanderlustboulevard.com

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Aw thank you Melanie! So glad you like it!! 🙂

  • Emily
    8 months ago

    This sounds so great for mature skin. I’ve wanted to try retinol products for so long for the anti aging benefits. I’ve heard such great things about the ingredient retinol! I can’t believe how long you’ve been using it and how little is gone.

    http://www.thinkingofmakeup.com

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Yes! Retinol is so great and it’s been clinically proven to work. I couldn’t believe how little I had used either! This stuff spreads out very well and goes a long way. 🙂

  • 8 months ago

    A very thorough review. I would think an eye cream would be moisturizing, not leave your skin dry. I am in my thirties and I really need to get regular about using eye cream. I agree – getting in the habit is tough!

    xx Yasmin
    http://banglesandbungalows.com

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      You might like this one if you don’t have sensitive or dry skin. This one is drying because of the AHA and retinol. 🙂

  • 8 months ago

    Skincare is totally hit or miss for me. I just bought a new moisturizer that everyone was raving about and it totally messed my skin up. I guess it’s the risk we take for the sake of beauty, haha. I hope your next eye cream works out much better! 🙂

    Stephanie ● Sartorial Diner

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      I agree. It can be hit or miss. What was the product?? I typically find I react well to most products. My skin isn’t too sensitive, luckily! 🙂

  • 8 months ago

    Such a lovely post!
    LOVE IT you have nice blog!
    NEW POST
    iamaliyankhan.blogspot.com

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Thank you!

  • 8 months ago

    I actually had this on my list of products to look into- thanks for the review, lady!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Yay! Hope you end up liking it!

  • 8 months ago

    This eye cream sounds awesome. I can’t wait till I can start using my retinol products again! Thanks for sharing!

    xx

    Lauren
    Blame it on Barneys
    http://www.blameitonbarneys.com/

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Welcome Lauren! I hope you try it!

  • 8 months ago

    Hmmm, it’s such a shame it’s not working out for you but as you said, it might be for more mature skin. I am using an eye cream from Origins that is okay. I think I will check out that one from First Aid Beauty that you mentioned. Thank you for such an honest review.

    Ann-Marie | http://facetocurls.com

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      You’re welcome! I’ve been using the First Aid Beauty one for about 8 months now and I love it!

  • 8 months ago

    I’ve been using eye cream religiously since I was 20. While we’re in our 20’s it’s hard to see any difference, but I’m pretty sure we will in the long run! x

    http://www.aimeroseblog.com

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Definitely! I will keep using eye creams regularly and always! I love them. 🙂

  • 8 months ago

    Must try it! 🙂

    Federica Di Nardo
    http://federicadinardo.com

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Definitely give it a shot!

  • 8 months ago

    Great review, Eye creams are the hardest to find for me so love reading honest reviews on them.

    Gemma x
    http://www.jacquardflower.uk

    • Emily
      8 months ago

      Yay, glad you liked it! Good eye creams have been hard for me to find as well.

Leave A Comment

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: