Dose Of Colors Lip Review

I had waited on trying Dose of Colors for the longest time, even despite all the fantastic reviews they’d racked up. But finally, my lips are in the game! I chose two of their matte liquid lipsticks and then one ‘classic gloss‘ to try out. Matte liquid lipsticks are getting increasingly saturated in the beauty market and there are literally tons of brands to choose from. Still, I’ve heard Dose of Colors has one of the best formulas so I had to finally try it for myself.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

On My Lips

Their matte liquid lipsticks are an incredibly light weight formula even though the consistency is fluffier than some liquid ones. To me the consistency is in between a ColourPop matte liquid lipstick and an OFRA long lasting liquid lipstick. It’s slightly moussey but glides on more like a liquid. It dries down completely matte and does not transfer. I didn’t notice any cracking or caking up on my lips. My lips were able to move and breathe a decent amount without feeling like I was going to stretch the product and make it crack. Overall this wore very well on my lips. I am not a fan of the applicator however, and I find it a bit hard to use. I much prefer a flat brush like OFRA’s because it’s easiest to move around the lip line with.

Their lip gloss I am on the fence about. I really really really hated the colour I chose, and I think that’s what it comes down to. The formula itself I was kind of eh about. I didn’t love it but I didn’t hate it either. The fact that I chose an awful colour for my skin tone definitely put a bad taste in my mouth. On my lips it was a little sticky, and again, I was not a fan of this applicator.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

(left to right: brick, bare with me, bellini)

Brick

This was the colour I was most drawn to. It’s a beautiful burnt red. I love the way this colour wears if you’re going for a dramatic look, but I probably will not wear this one too often to be honest. It actually has a little more brown than I was hoping for in the formula, which doesn’t suit me well. But I will definitely still get some use out of this! I can’t image rocking this in the summer. Brick is definitely your fall/winter colour.

Bare With Me

I cannot say enough good things about this colour. It. Is. So. Gorgeous. It’s the perfect pinky peachy warm nude. This was my favorite purchase of the three. I think this colour will look amazing on any skin tone and is perfect all year round as an every day colour.

Bellini (lip gloss)

Alright, I don’t know where I went wrong with this one, but I went wrong. Online this colour did not look metallic at all. When I put this on my lips I immediately noticed an iridescence and almost glittery vibe to this which I was not feeling at all. This colour is very pigmented and because of that it was really hard to make it look good around the edges of my lips. Lip glosses that aren’t as pigmented are what I tend to prefer because they are more forgiving when you are applying them. Definitely not a fan of this colour, and I am a little in the middle on the formula itself. I even tried putting this gloss over Bare With Me, and it completely overpowered that colour. Eeeek!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Final Thoughts

Probably one of my favorite things is the packaging on these! I honestly never though too much about it and sometimes they looked cheap to me. When I got to hold them in my hands for the first time I was shocked at how cute and sturdy they were. I especially love that when you twist them close they actually give a little ‘click’. It’s really really amazing. OFRA still has my favorite matte liquid formula, but I do think both of these are a nice addition to my matte collection and they have nice formulas as well. I will say that these slay (can’t believe I just used that word) in the packaging department compared to OFRA. They literally have my least favorite packaging, but best formula! Isn’t it funny how that works?

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Would I Purchase Again?

I would purchase the matte liquid lipsticks again. I think there are better lip glosses on the market, and while I didn’t hate the formula, I figure if I’m going to spend money with Dose of Colors it’s gonna be on their mattes. Know what I’m sayin’?

Have you tried Dose of Colors yet? Is this a top five or top ten formula for you?

BRANDS

Dose of Colors

OFRA

74 Comments

  • 1 year ago

    Wow what a nice colours especially that dark matte one – So on point! I love dark lips lately, they are so dope and next level:)
    xx
    http://putitallonme.com/

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Same! Dark lips are everything. Thanks for stopping by!

  • 1 year ago

    I like the packaging too! I thought that the colors you picked are pretty even if you may not think so 🙂

    Tina
    http://www.justatinabit.com

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thank you! They are pretty. I just didn’t like the lip gloss colour on me. But it’s still a very lovely colour.

  • 1 year ago

    i so bad want to try these! love those colours!
    http://www.thestyletune.com

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Try them out for sure! They have so many colours too.

  • Amy
    1 year ago

    These sound great. I am really loving the matte liquid lipsticks.

    Amy Ann
    Straight A Style

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thanks Amy! Definitely try them out.

  • 1 year ago

    The packaging of these is SO cute! I’m super curious about the matte lipstick but feel like I’d probably have issues navigating the applicator.

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      I think the packaging is the best part for sure. I hate applicators that aren’t flat, but surprisingly so many aren’t.

  • 1 year ago

    Gorgeous lip shades!! Love ’em! I’ll have to give a matte liquid lipstick a try!!


    Amber
    All the Cute
    Today’s Post: Abstract Print Dress

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Yay! They are really lovely. 🙂

  • 1 year ago

    Gorgeous colors!! Thanks for sharing!
    Love,
    Kisses and hugs from http://www.trangscorner.com {a lifestyle, fashion, beauty, and food blog}

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Welcome!

  • 1 year ago

    So the matte liquid lipstick immediately intrigues me! I’m glad to hear you liked that one. Gloss can be difficult to get into – I’m sure they all looked gorgeous on!

    xx http://www.qustomquinns.com/blog

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      The mattes looked really pretty! The lip gloss was a pretty colour, just not on me haha.

  • 1 year ago

    Bellini shade is so beautiful.
    Nina
    http://www.ninasstyleblog.com

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thanks Nina!

  • 1 year ago

    These colors are amazing!
    xx

    http://www.theblackblush.blogspot.com

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thanks Adriana!

  • 1 year ago

    Oooo, Bellini is a tough shade to pull off, sorry you got that. I love Ofra liquid lipsticks formula, they are one of the best that I have ever tried. I agree that Dose of Colors win in the packaging department, it’s so chic.

    Shireen | Reflection of Sanity

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Yay, glad you have the same thoughts as me! A lot of people rave about Dose, but I just love OFRA over them so much.

  • 1 year ago

    The colors are gorgeous, especially the berry one

    http://www.prettyinleather.net

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thank you Yuka!

  • 1 year ago

    We’ve heard mixed things about their liquid lipsticks. Most people love them, but some aren’t fans. They look amazing on in all the photos we’ve seen though. Maybe we have to try the mattes

    A Pair of Ones | Bloglovin

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Same thing here! I’ve heard some people say they are their favorite liquid lippies and then others not so much. I think I am kind of in between. The mattes are good and worth a try, but I still love OFRA’s formula the most.

  • 1 year ago

    great review! I love getting new lip products!

    kelseybang.com

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thanks Kelsey!

  • 1 year ago

    Love those two nude colours, they look amazing

    http://www.whiteandcapsule.com/

    xxxx

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thanks Alanda!

  • 1 year ago

    These look great and I want them all, the colors are amazing!

    My Vogue Style – http://www.myvoguestyle.com

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thank you! Definitely check them out. They are decently affordable too.

  • 1 year ago

    Well-designed packaging always gets me, these ones are so cute! I could really see “Brick” being a perfect fall color, and I’d love to try “Bare With Me”. It looks like such a versatile shade.

    Kathryn • The Fashionography

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Agreed. The Bare With Me is very versatile. But Brick is definitely for fall! Just have to wait a few more months now… ;p

  • 1 year ago

    These look so amazing. Love the packaging and love all the shades you picked. However, I don’t know if the darkest shades would look that great on me. I had a look at their website and they have so many fun colours too x

    http://www.wildfirecharm.com

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Yeah they have a lot of colours that you wouldn’t normally see. I love it!

  • 1 year ago

    I love the packaging, it’s a bit different compared to the other liquid lipsticks that are on the market. I love the sound of the matte ones, but think I’ll steer clear of the lip glosses – I never wear lip gloss anyway!

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Same. I am not a huge gloss fan and I don’t wear it too much. You’ll definitely be happy with the matte!

  • Great review! I have never heard of this brand, but I would like to try it – in particular the matte lipsticks look lovely. I think the ‘bare with me’ colour looks beautiful!
    Thanks for sharing
    Julia xx
    http://www.thevelvetrunway.com

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thanks Julia! That one was definitely my favorite of the three. It looks great!

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thanks!

  • 1 year ago

    Great review! I never heard of the brand before. Gemma x
    http://www.jacquardflower.uk

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thanks Gemma! They are a smaller brand for sure, that only sells online for now.

  • 1 year ago

    gorgeous colors!
    xoxo
    Patinka
    http://www.patinkasworld.com

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thank you!

  • 1 year ago

    I haven’t tried this brand before, but the Brick color is beautiful. Thanks for sharing, have a great weekend! 🙂

    Eden | Mint Notion

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Welcome! Hope you had a great weekend Eden! 🙂

  • 1 year ago

    Those colours look sooo good, so unusual! Would love to follow each other and keep in touch, let me know if you want to! x

    adelelydia.blogspot.com

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thank you!

  • I love your blog, thank you for sharing!
    xoxo, Hadasah
    http://www.styletolove.com

  • 1 year ago

    Thanks for sharing your review! I’m actually eager to try the Dose lip products too. And unfortunately you’re right, I do believe it comes down to the color. They look so pretty though, I’m sure you can make them work!

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thanks Mariann! I am totally making them work haha. I probably won’t use the gloss but I love the other two.

  • 1 year ago

    I have not tried them but I’m involve with these colors!!
    Great post girl
    XO
    Aimara
    http://www.waysofstyle.com

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thanks Aimara! They are so pretty. 🙂

  • 1 year ago

    I have heard so many great things about this brand but I haven’t tried any of their lippies as yet. These are gorgeous lip shades! Love them!

    Ann-Marie | http://facetocurls.com

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Definitely give them a try!

  • 1 year ago

    The dark one is absolutely amazing! They all look very very nice and the packaging is super cute!
    Thank you for sharing!
    X

    http://www.britishmilan.co.uk

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thank you! I love the packaging as well.

  • 1 year ago

    These colors are beautiful! I haven’t tried out Dose of Colors products yet, but they seem amazing!

    http://www.thebeautydojo.com

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      They are pretty bomb! Definitely give them a shot.

  • 1 year ago

    If only we have these kinds of brands here in our city, I would really love to try them out! Waaah!

    Elisha | http://loveelisha.net/

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      They might ship to your country! Says they do international to most countries. 🙂

      • 1 year ago

        Yeah, I went over their site awhile ago. The shipping was quite pricey but it’s really fine I guess, if these products are really good.

        • Emily
          1 year ago

          Aw that’s a bummer. That’s like when I order things from Australia. It’s soooo expensive it feels like robbery!

  • 1 year ago

    The color looks amazing, thanks for sharing!

    xx
    Xin

  • 1 year ago

    Gorgeous picks! I love chocolatey shades that Brick is the colour here that appeals to me the most. It’s gorgeous!

    Laura xo
    http://www.shehearts.net

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Thank you laura!

  • 1 year ago

    You’re tempting me to try them all! Thanks for sharing and have a fab week 🙂

    Love, Aldroa

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      You are welcome! You as well!!

  • 1 year ago

    I want a dark chocolatey shade! The contrast looks beautiful.

    Also, just wanted to say that I spent a good time on your homepage because I love your layout, especially the subtle parallax scrolling!
    (But pssst, the top banners with the set of 3 blog posts gets cut off on my 15″ Retina MacBook screen)

    Sincerely,
    Sabrina

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Oh thank you! That’s such a nice comment and I’m glad you like it. They get sort of cut off on mine too. To be honest I’m not sure if that’s how they are supposed to be? Like depending on how expanded you have your browser? Something I definitely noticed. I am actually thinking about getting rid of them soon anyway (if we’re talking about the same thing! haha). Thank you for letting me know Sabrina!!

  • 1 year ago

    I have been wanting to try these forever, I’ve heard such great things about them!! I love the colours you picked – I’m obsessed with matte lips at the moment, especially nude matte lips and ‘bare with me’ looks amazing!!

    http://www.greenteavogueandme.com

    Maija Lily Xx

    • Emily
      1 year ago

      Bare With Me is definitely the best colour. I’ve been wearing it non stop since I got it!

Leave A Comment

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: