ColourPop Ultra Metallic Lip Review

ColourPop came out with some metals, yay!!! I have reviewed this brand before and have always loved their products since I was introduced to them by Kathleen Lights. If you want to see a few other reviews on their products I have done, check out here and here.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

They came out with four ‘metallic’ lip colours about three weeks ago and I purchased three of the four in Kween, 3 Way, and Man Eater. They’ve been doing a Kylie Jenner type thing and only releasing them in batches, which I absolutely hate. One day I got lucky and had been checking my email when they just did their third release, so I was able to grab them before they sold out!Β Let’s get to it.

On My Lips

These do appear to dry down completely matte, and the formula seems to be extremely similar (if not the exact same formula) toΒ their other liquid lipsticks. These have a beautiful sheen to them which is achieved mostly with glitter. If you swatch these, be ready to have glitter all over your hands. However they don’t appear glittery on the lips at all. This formula is a bit lighter than their other products and you definitely have to have two or three coats to get that really deep pigmented look. The wear is very comfortable on these, but they do not last all day long like their ultra mattes. Something to consider if you don’t like reapplying lipstick.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
(From left to right: Kween, Man Eater, 3 Way)

Kween

This one is the true red of the three, which makes it one of the most wearable. I could definitely see this as a nice topper to a red lipstick for a costume party or Christmas party. Fall where you at?

3 Way

This one is another red but with more of a plum sheen to it, and definitely my favorite of the three. It’s really really beautiful on the lips and completely wearable. Again, perfect for fall.

Man Eater

This one I didn’t like too much and it’s the least wearable of the three I bought. It’s more of a light brown/gold colour and I knew that it probably wouldn’t look too great on me, but I still wanted to buy it and try something unique. I could image this working really well for costume makeup though.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Final Thoughts

These metallics are super fun and great to add to your collection. For me, they sort of stop there. I don’t think the colours are super wearable and they definitely draw attention. For the girl that is nodding her head yes to all these things, then these are totally for you! I prefer a more monochromatic look with subtle pinks and nudes. I still love the way these swatch and I can’t stop staring at them. The Formula is ColourPop quality and super easy to worth with, which I love. If I am sounding a little on the fence, that’s because I am. I just can’t decide! I’ll definitely be wearing them more this week to see if they grow on me.

Would I Purchase Again?

As of now, I don’t think I would purchase these again. Maybe if they came out with some that were a little more wearable and had a little less glitter/sheen, I would consider purchasing. I also don’t like how they are releasing them in batches.

Have you tried the ColourPop metals yet? Let me know your thoughts!

P.S. ColourPop now ships internationally for all my readers who’ve been waiting for this!

BRANDS

ColourPop Cosmetics

53 Comments

  • 11 months ago

    I’m glad the glitter doesn’t really show too much on the lips but I agree with you that I would just prefer it more if it wasn’t there at all. I like 3 way and these colors are definitely making me excited for Fall. Summer isn’t exactly my season.

    -M

    Violet Roots || Instagram || Twitter

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Same! I am such a winter girl. I love winter clothes and makeup haha.

  • 11 months ago

    You should check out their other matte lippys!! They may change your mind, love love mine!!

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      I posted a few links of reviews I already did :). I love their other products and lippies.

  • 11 months ago

    Hi dear and thank you for your visit. So beautiful colors….I don’t know very well this brand, thanks for sharing!!!
    Check out my blog when u have time! Today I have a new post!!! Have a nice day, kisses,
    Eni

    Eniwhere Fashion
    Eniwhere Fashion Facebook

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Thanks Eni!

  • 11 months ago

    This definitely doesn’t seem like the most wearable of products but I can definitely see it being perfect for certain occasions!

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      I totally agree!

  • 11 months ago

    Great review, Emily! I’m not sure if metallic lips is something that will suits me but I plan to pick up a couple from NYX as they are actually lip gloss instead of liquid lipsticks. Not sure if I’m too old for this trend….

    Shireen | Reflection of Sanity

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      I totally understand! I kind of felt that way too haha. I think I am a little too old to wear these colours. They are so fun though I couldn’t help but buy them.

  • Sarah
    11 months ago

    It’s a shame that they aren’t long-lasting but I love the Kween and 3-way shades!!

    Pop over to my blog!

    Sarah
    sarahinks.co.uk

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Same! Those were my favorites.

  • 11 months ago

    Great shades! I was not familiar with this brand so thanks for sharing! xxx

    http://www.naomella.com

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      You’re welcome!!

  • 11 months ago

    I would love to see how this metallic color looked on! It’s so different!

    xoxo Rina
    http://www.andshedressed.com

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Was trying to grab a few photos of it on me, but I didn’t like any of them! πŸ™

  • 11 months ago

    Those colors are so perfect for a/w. Also loving the funny names. x

    Have a nice day,
    Andreea
    http://couturezilla.com/

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Same! I love it when companies do lighthearted names. πŸ™‚

  • 11 months ago
    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Thank you!

  • 11 months ago

    When the Kylie metallic lip creams came out I was hoping for dupes! I’d want to try Colourpop. I wish I can find a good online seller here in the Philippines! xD

    xoxo,
    Gelleesh.com

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      I think ColourPop ships to the Philippines now! Those dang Kylie lip kits are so hard to get a hold of haha.

  • 11 months ago

    I love these colors!! I really need to branch out with my lipsticks and lip glosses!

    http://thecourtneydiaries.com

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Thanks Courtney! It’s so hard, I constantly find myself wearing the same ones haha.

  • 11 months ago

    I’m not bold enough to wear this shade too. Ha! Great review, beautiful. πŸ™‚
    Happy weekend!

    http://missymayification.blogspot.co.uk

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Thank you Missy!

  • 11 months ago

    The colors looks so lovely, annyoing though that they don’t last for so long! Xx

    http://www.thefashionfolks.com

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Yeah kind of bummed about that. Thanks for stopping by!

  • 11 months ago

    This is interesting! I’ve never thought of trying out metallic lipsticks or lipgloss.
    Red Reticule

    | First impression on a trendy dress

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      I hadn’t either! But they always look so memorizing haha.

  • 11 months ago

    I’m partially with you, I don’t think I would wear metallic shades, either!! But I do love wearing brighter colors (like red!) as well as nudes and pinks!

    β™₯
    Amber
    All the Cute

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      I do like brighter colours too. I think for every day wear I go pretty light!

  • 11 months ago

    Oh very cute color sweetie
    xx

  • 11 months ago

    Wonderful Metallic shades.
    Outfit Ideas | What to Wear to a Concert

  • 11 months ago

    I haven’t try any metals, but I think this colour looks great!

    http://www.heelsandbeyond.com/

  • 11 months ago

    I haven’t tried these before, or any metallic colour actually, as I don’t think they work with my personal style, but they look so pretty on other people! I’d love to see a photo of you wearing them :B

    http://www.deasynoel.com

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Definitely should have done some photos! A few people have asked haha. I might post some to my insta :). Thanks for stopping by Deasy!

  • 11 months ago

    Lovely shades!

    Kisses,
    BLOG | TAISLANY

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Thank you!

  • Gabrielle
    11 months ago

    3 Way is probably my favourite shade too, going by your swatches! I love that the brand brought out metals, and even more than they ship internationally!

    aglassofice.com
    x

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Yes! I actually think they are dropping more metals today or sometime soon. Just saw on their insta they came out with lighter colours!!

  • 11 months ago

    i always wear red but this looks like a fun altenative

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Super fun! Thanks Jenn. πŸ™‚

  • 11 months ago

    Yaaay, they look amazing! Really nice shades! <3
    http://www.simimaus.blogspot.com

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Agreed!

  • 11 months ago

    Such beautiful shades and review too! I would love to wear them as I am a big fan of bold lips! You have a great photography by the way! Nice to meet you and have a great day πŸ™‚
    Stella
    http://www.stellaasteria.com

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Thank you Stella! They really are great if you’re looking for something bold and different. They came out with a few new shades today too!

  • 11 months ago

    Hi Emily ,
    Such a nice post ! I just ordered my metallic colors few minutes ago .
    Thank you for sharing your review .
    Hira
    http://www.hirascabin.com/

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Woot! They just came out with new colors too! Lucky. ;p

  • 11 months ago

    How amazing!!! I recently got a matte lipstick from them… and it is my new favorite!
    xoxo

    Ileana

    Novelstyle Blog

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Yay! I love their brand.

  • 11 months ago

    Hmm, I would be a little hesitant about the glitter formula- especially for wearing during the day! But I do love me some ColourPop- it’s a great + affordable brand!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

    • Emily
      11 months ago

      Same! I looove how affordable they are for the quality.

Leave A Comment

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: